AAPRCO Mid-Term Activities San Antonio, Texas, 2015


AAPRCO Special Train
Albuquerque NM – Lubbock TX –
Houston TX – San Antonio TX
April 19 – 21, 2014

AAPRCO Mid-Term Activities
San Antonio, Texas
April 22 – 23, 2015





Save the Dates!

Updated on 3/11/2015

We are planning an all private car special train (The Texas Special) operating one way from Albuquerque NM to San Antonio TX, via Lubbock TX and Houston TX. While in San Antonio, “deep in the heart of Texas”, we will conduct a number of activities. These activities include our mid-term membership meeting, seminars, and our mid-term board of directors meeting.

The current plan for the special train does not yet have final approval from all participating railroads and is subject to change. It includes travel on BNSF and Union Pacific. Almost all of the mileage, other than the mileage from San Marcos TX to San Antonio TX on Union Pacific (the route of Amtrak’s Texas Eagle), is off the Amtrak national system and some of it may be considered rare mileage. Here are the official railroad maps for the state of New Mexico and the state of Texas.

Here is a summary of the latest planning information:

Cars must arrive at Albuquerque by Saturday April 18th. The special train will be built, inspected and serviced at Albuquerque. The New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society will sponsor a free lunch and a tour of the nearly complete restoration of ATSF locomotive 2926.

On Sunday April 19th, the special train will depart Albuquerque and travel over BNSF to Lubbock TX. Parked overnight at Lubbock TX.

Mile 0 Albuquerque, NM 8:00 AM via NMRX, BNSF and Amtrak line to Belen
Mile 30 Belen, NM 8:30 AM join BNSF trans-con line headed east
Mile 280 Texico, TX 1:10 PM join BNSF former ATSF line to Lubbock
Mile 370 Lubbock, TX 4:00 PM parking at BNSF yard

On Monday April 20th, the special train will depart Lubbock and travel over BNSF to Houston TX. Parked overnight at the Amtrak station in Houston.

Mile 0 Lubbock, TX 6:00 AM via BNSF former ATSF line to Temple, TX
Mile 228 Brownwood, TX 12:00 NOON
Mile 359 Temple, TX 4:00 PM via BNSF line to Somerville, TX
Mile 436 Somerville, TX 5:30 PM join BNSF line to Navasota and Dobbin, TX
Mile 485 Dobbin, TX 7:00 PM join BNSF line south to Houston, TX
Mile 536 Houston, TX 9:15 PM wye train east of station. Pull south past switch, reverse move to properly point train, pull forward to Amtrak station.
Mile 537 Houston, TX 9:30 PM Amtrak station for overnight parking

On Tuesday April 21st, the special train will depart Houston on UP to Rosenburg , then on the BNSF line (UP trackage rights) to Sealy, then on UP’s former MKT line Sealy – LaGrange – San Marcos, and finally from San Marcos to San Antonio on the UP route of Amtrak’s Texas Eagle. The special train terminates at San Antonio.

Mile 0 Houston, TX 8:00 AM via UP former SP Sunset Route
Mile 37 Rosenburg, TX 9:30 AM join BNSF line to Sealy. UP has trackage rights on BNSF.
Mile 66 Sealy, TX 10:30 AM join UP former MKT line west to San Marcos, TX
Mile 183 San Marcos, TX 3:00 PM join UP Amtrak line to San Antonio, TX
Mile 238 San Antonio, TX 5:00 PM park at Amtrak station or former SP shops

Total mileage for the special train will be 1,145 miles.

The AAPRCO mid-term events will be held at San Antonio on Wednesday April 22 and Thursday April 23.The Ask Amtrak seminar, mechanical seminar and membership meeting will be held on April 22. The board of directors meeting will be held on April 23. The special train will be serviced on Friday April 24; this date is open for tours.

We have negotiated a rate of $129 (plus taxes) per night at Staybridge Suites – Downtown Convention Center, which is located at 123 Hoefgen Street in San Antonio. Use reservation code “AAP” when reserving your accomodations.

There is a small registration fee of $50, which pays your way into the VIP reception, meetings and lunch. Everyone attending the meeting in San Antonio must register. Registration can be accomplished online, or checks may be sent to AAPRCO, PO Box 6307, Columbus, GA 31917 until March 20th. Payment on site or on the train must be by check or credit card; cash will not be accepted.

Since this will be an AAPRCO sponsored special train, all passengers must be a member of AAPRCO or the guest of an AAPRCO member. Follow this link for information on joining AAPRCO.